American League

Wed, 05 Nov 2008 02:04

American League

Detailed information about the american league of baseball.

One of two leagues that created Major League Baseball in the United States and Canada was the American League of Professional Baseball Clubs or just the American League (AL). It urbanized from Western League, a small league based in the Great Lakes states, which finally aimed for major league status. Since having been elevated to Major League status in 1901, 25 years following the configuration of the National League (the “Senior Circuit”), the league is frequently called the Junior Circuit. After the last part of each season, the American League title holder plays in the World Series against National League title holder. American League players have won 61 of the 103 World Series games played from 1903, with 26 of those coming from the New York Yankees alone, throughout the 2007 season. The Tampa Bay Rays are the defending American League title holders, winning the AL Pennant in 2008.

The National League extended to develop into a 12-team league, with the departure of the American Association after the 1891 baseball season. The National League continued the only domination of major professional baseball for the rest of the century. Bancroft “Ban” Johnson became the president of the minor Western League in 1894. He formulated the plan that would sooner or later see the Western League become the American League. The National League considered constricting from 12 teams to eight, all the way through the last half of the 1890s. Johnson was firm that if this should take place, then he would be ready to put new teams into the deserted cities and thus obtain the established league. In 1900 the National League at last went through with its planned constriction, getting rid of its teams in Louisville, Washington, D.C., Cleveland, and Baltimore. Johnson therefore felt the time was right to obtain the established league.

On October 11, 1899, the Western League renamed itself the American League and positioned teams in Chicago and Cleveland. This was completed with the authorization of the National League, which did not identify the risk such a move would create. In spite of these moves, the American League stayed as a minor league through the 1900 season. The league did not replenish its National Agreement association when it expired in October 1900. And on January 28, 1901, the American League formally stated itself as a major league. It positioned new teams in Boston and Baltimore. The manager and some players from the Kansas City were relocated to Washington.
In 1961, the league expanded to 10 teams, adding up a franchise in Washington, D.C., and Los Angeles, the last reinstating the departing Minnesota Twins. The league expanded once more in 1969, adding the Seattle Pilots and the Kansas City Royals, the previous replacing the late Athletics franchise in Kansas City. The Pilots merely managed to endure one season before relocating to Milwaukee (only four days before the 1970 season began) where they became recognized as the Milwaukee Brewers. On the same year of 1969, the league, next to the National League, reorganized into two divisions of six teams (West and East, declining further along geological lines than the National League’s own rearrangement that year) and added a League Championship Series to decide the league contributor in the World Series.