Learn to Play Chess

Wed, 28 May 2008 19:39

Learn to Play Chess

Free chess learn online play.

If you want to be a chess master, you have to start somewhere. With that said, learning the basics of chess is the first thing you should do. As opposed to what many people think, chess is not a difficult game to learn. It may look complicated at first, but once you've memorized the various rules, you'll find out that it's even easier to play than Monopoly.

If you're already itching to play chess, read on.

Setting Up the Pieces

A chess set is composed of a chess board and 32 chess pieces. Each player gets 16 chess pieces: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 knights, 2 bishops, 2 rooks, and 8 pawns. The first rank -- that is the row nearest to you -- is where you place all your high-value pieces. The rooks are placed on the two outside squares of the first rank. Moving towards the middle of the rank, place the knights next to the rooks, then the bishops. Your queen should be placed on the square of its own color. This means that if you are going with the white chess pieces, your queen should stand on the white square. Meanwhile, the king is placed beside the queen. All your pawns should be placed on the second rank, just behind the high-value pieces.

The Chess Pieces

Now that you know how to set up the pieces on the board, it's time to learn how each chess piece moves. Every type of chess piece has its own distinct move. It's imperative that you learn these moves by heart so you can properly plan both your attack and defense strategies.

King – may only move one grid or square at a time in any direction. However, a king may not move to a square where he will be placed in check.

Queen – may move in any direction and distance, as long as it will not run through other pieces of its own color. A queen may move and capture the opponent's pieces diagonally, horizontally, and vertically.

Rook – may move and capture opponent's pieces either horizontally or vertically. It may move as many squares as it can, provided that it will not run through pieces of its own color.

Bishop – may only move diagonally and according to its designated square color. This means that a bishop standing on a white square should follow a white-square diagonal path. Meanwhile, a bishop standing on a black grid should follow a black-grid diagonal path.

Knight – is the only chess piece that can run through other chess pieces of its own color. It has a unique move called the L-move, which comprises of three boxes: 2 forwards and 1 sideward or 2 sidewards and 1 forward. Whenever you move a knight around, the boxes must form a 90-degree angle or an L shape.

Pawn – may only move one grid or square forward, but may capture opponent's chess pieces diagonally. It may never go backwards, even when capturing other pieces.

Making the First Move

Generally, the player with the light-colored chess pieces get to make the first move.

The Goal of the Game

Basically, your goal in chess is to checkmate your opponent's king. A checkmate takes place when you place your opponent's king in check and he can no longer move out of it. When a king is checkmated, it means that it's trapped -- anywhere it goes, it will be placed in check. As soon as you checkmated your opponent's king, you win the game.