NBA Western Conference

Sat, 03 Jan 2009 10:53

NBA Western Conference

Information about National Basketball Association's Western Conference.

The NBA Western Conference is the other half of the two major groups of teams playing in the league. It is currently made up of 15 teams playing in 5 different divisions. It was during the 2004–2005 season that the active division assignments have been finalized. The NBA Western Conference has been known as a very tough place to play basketball. During the 2007–2008 season, a tight race for the top spot happened to the six teams that have already qualified for the playoffs in the NBA Western Conference. It was also during that time that the top two MVP candidates also played for the NBA Western Conference.

Northwest Division

The Northwest Division of the NBA Western Conference is composed of the Denver Nuggets, the Minnesota Timberwolves, the Portland Trail Blazers, the Oklahoma City Thunder, and the Utah Jazz. These teams of the NBA Western Conference have seen many star players including Karl Malone and John Stockton of the Jazz, Clyde Drexler of the Blazers, Christian Laettner and Kevin Garnett of the Timberwolves, and Alex English and Dikembe Mutombo of the Denver Nuggets. The Thunder is a recently established team in the NBA Western Conference. It was formerly known as the Seattle Supersonics, also from the NBA Western Conference. Its current main player is Kevin Durant, the 2007 second overall draft pick from the University of Texas.

Southwest Division

The Dallas Mavericks, Houston Rockets, Memphis Grizzlies, New Orleans Hornets, and San Antonio Spurs round up the Southwest Division of the NBA Western Conference. This conference is notorious for the “Texas Triangle,” a group composed of Dallas, Houston, and San Antonio. Known heavily for strong defense mixed with precision offense, the “Texas Triangle” in the NBA Western Conference can be a nightmare for weak opponents. In recent years, star players of the NBA Western Conference included Tim Duncan, Chris Paul, Dirk Nowitzki, Tracy McGrady, and Pau Gasol.

Pacific Division

The Pacific Division of the NBA Western Conference includes the Golden State Warriors, the Los Angeles Clippers, the Los Angeles Lakers, the Phoenix Suns, and the Sacramento Kings. Among these clubs in the NBA Western Conference, the LA Lakers are the most decorated, winning a total of 14 NBA Championships. Many great players of the NBA Western Conference have played for the Lakers. As the years passed, many new exciting players have been part of the NBA Western Conference. Names such as Mitch Richmond, Steve Nash, Kobe Bryant, Monta Ellis, and Elton Brand have played in the NBA Western Conference.

Championship count

The LA Lakers have the most number of NBA Western Conference championships with 29. They are also in second place with the most NBA championships, with the Boston Celtics of the Eastern Conference leading the way. Yet, many teams from the NBA Western Conference have also won championships of their own. The San Antonio Spurs have their own set of championships which they have won in recent times. Another NBA Western Conference team with multiple NBA championships is the Houston Rockets. There are also strong teams in the NBA Western Conference such as the Utah Jazz and the Dallas Mavericks.