Nfl Teams

Sat, 20 Sep 2008 02:20

Nfl Teams

The NFL, which stands for the National Football League, currently has 32 teams and is considered as the biggest professional American football league in the world. It is an association that started out in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association. Its name was changed in 1921 to American Professional Football League, but it settled for its current name come 1922. NFL teams are divided into four divisions. Below are just some of the teams that currently belong to the NFL.

Dallas Cowboys

On September 13, 2007, Forbes Magazine's website published an article listing the Dallas Cowboys as the football team with the highest value, which is estimated to be around $1.5 billion. Pegged as one of the richest teams in the NFL, the Dallas Cowboys generates an annual revenue of approximately $250 million. Since 1960, this team has won eight Conference championships and five Super Bowls. Aside from that, the Dallas Cowboys team boasts of a long list of successes, which has earned it the nickname "America's Team".

Washington Redskins

The Washington Redskins are considered as the second most valuable NFL team, its estimated worth being $1.467 billion. The Redskins have won five NFL championships and three Super Bowls. The Redskins play at the FedExField located in Landover, Maryland, and their training facility and headquarters can be found at Redskin Park in Ashburn, Virginia.

Chicago Bears

Registered corporately and legally as the Chicago Bears Football Club, Incorporated, the Chicago Bears was founded in 1919 in Decatur, Illinois, and moved in 1921 to Chicago. This club is the one of the only two remaining franchises that have been in existence since the founding of the NFL, the other one being the Arizona Cardinals. The Bears bagged nine wins in the Professional American Football League championships, eight of these being NFL championships and the other one being Super Bowl XX.

Seattle Seahawks

The Seattle Seahawks joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1976. It is the only team that has achieved playing in both the American Football Conference and National Football Conference championship games. This team has also made an appearance in the Super Bowl XL. From 1976 to 2007, the Seahawks have competed in 32 NFL seasons.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Widely known as the Bucs, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are based in Tampa Florida and have joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1976, along with the Seattle Seahawks. From 1996 to 2005, the Buccaneers were playoff contenders. The only time they appeared in the Super Bowl was during the Super Bowl XXXVII, which they won.

St. Louis Rams

The St. Louis Rams are currently based in St. Louis, Missouri, although they started out in Cleveland, Ohio, as the Cleveland Rams. This team then became the Los Angeles Rams in 1946 when it moved to Los Angeles. Before the 1995 season, the Rams moved to St. Louis and promptly changed their name. The Rams have bagged two wins in the NFL championships and one Super Bowl.

San Francisco 49ers

The first major league professional sports franchise in San Francisco, the San Francisco 49ers began playing in 1946 and has since then achieved many successes. They have won five Super Bowls and among those who have appeared in multiple Super Bowls, the 49ers are the only ones that have never lost a Super Bowl game.