NHL Guide

Wed, 11 Feb 2009 02:32

NHL Guide

Guiding you through the national hockey league.

The National Hockey League (NHL) is the main professional ice hockey league in Canada and the United States. Considered as the leading professional ice hockey league around the globe, it is home to the famed Stanley Cup, to several powerful teams and to hundreds of the hottest and most talented ice hockey players the world has ever seen.

The NHL began with four teams in 1917 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. It was an offshoot from its predecessor, the National Hockey Association (NHA), formed in 1909. The NHA was dissolved due to the clashing of Toronto Blueshirts owner Eddie Livingstone and the owners of other teams: the Wanderers, Canadiens, Senators, and Bulldogs.

After decades of relocations, contractions, and expansions, the NHL now has 30 professional hockey teams from various places in the US and in Canada. These teams are divided into two conferences: the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference. These geography-based conference names have been used since 1993. Prior to that, the conferences were called Prince of Wales Conference (Eastern) and Clarence Campbell Conference (Western).

Each conference is composed of three divisions, and each of those divisions house five teams. The following are the NHL’s current team alignment:

Atlantic Division
- New Jersey Devils
- New York Islanders
- New York Rangers
- Philadelphia Flyers
- Pittsburgh Penguins
Northeast Division
- Boston Bruins
- Buffalo Sabres
- Montreal Canadiens
- Ottawa Senators
- Toronto Maple Leafs
Southeast Division
- Atlanta Thrashers
- Carolina Hurricanes
- Florida Panthers
- Tampa Bay Lightning
- Washington Capitals
Central Division
- Chicago Blackhawks
- Columbus Blue Jackets
- Detroit Red Wings
- Nashville Predators
- St. Louis Blues
Northwest Division
- Calgary Flames
- Colorado Avalanche
- Edmonton Oilers
- Minnesota Wild
- Vancouver Canucks
Pacific Division
- Anaheim Ducks
- Dallas Stars
- Los Angeles Kings
- Phoenix Coyotes
- San Jose Sharks


HistoryNHL Eastern ConferenceNHL Western Conference
NHL History
Atlanta Thrashers
Anaheim Ducks
NHL Eastern Conference
Boston Bruins
Calgary Flames
NHL Western Conference
Buffalo Sabres
Chicago Blackhawks
Carolina Hurricanes
Colorado Avalanche
Florida Panthers
Columbus Blue Jackets
Montreal Canadiens
Dallars Stars
New Jersey Devils
Detroit Red Wings
New York Islanders
Edmonton Oilers
New York Rangers
Los Angeles Kings
Ottawa Senators
Minnesota Wild
Philadelphia Flyers Nashville Predators
Pittsburgh Penguins
Phoenix Coyotes
Tampa Bay Lightning
San Jose Sharks
Toronto Maple Leafs
St Louis Blues
Washington Capitals
Vancouver Canucks


Betting & Facts
The Stanley Cup
NHL Betting
NHL Odds
NHL Spreads

Visit the official site of the NHL with teams, events, standings, stats. schedule and much more.