NHL Western Conference

Sun, 01 Mar 2009 03:14

NHL Western Conference

Information about the national hockey league Western Conference.

The NHL is composed of two conferences: the Eastern and Western. In 2008, a total of 15 teams are playing in each conference. There are three divisions for each conference. For the NHL Western Conference, the divisions are called the Central, Northwest, and Pacific. The conference started in 1974 to help the NHL in managing the teams. During that time, the NHL Western Conference was known as the Clarence Campbell Conference. In 1981, the teams in the NHL Western Conference were matched to a better geographical arrangement. Yet, it retained the name of Clarence Campbell. It would eventually be given its current name in 1993.

Knowing the teams

The teams in the Central division of the NHL Western Conference include the Chicago Blackhawks, the Columbus Blue Jackets, the Detroit Red Wings, the Nashville Predators, and the St. Louis Blues. In the Northwest division, the teams include the Calgary Flames, the Colorado Avalanche, the Edmonton Oilers, the Minnesota Wild, and the Vancouver Canucks. The other division in the NHL Western Conference is known as the Pacific. The teams in this division are the Anaheim Ducks, the Dallas Stars, the Los Angles Kings, the Phoenix Coyotes, and the San Jose Sharks.

The champs

From 1974 to 2008, a total of 8 teams from the NHL Western Conference have become Stanley Cup champions. These are the Philadelphia Flyers, the New York Islanders, the Edmonton Oilers, the Calgary Flames, the Colorado Avalanche, the Detroit Red Wings, the Dallas Stars, and the Anaheim Ducks. Among these teams, the Oilers have had the most Stanley Cup titles with 5. They are closely followed by the Detroit Red Wings with 4. The Oilers would also have the most NHL Western Conference championships, where they would receive the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl. They would post 7 total NHL Western Conference titles with the Philadelphia Flyers in second place, with 6.

More on the winners

Although the Philadelphia Flyers have won the NHL Western Conference title 6 times, they would only win the Stanley Cup twice. One of those Stanley Cup wins even happened before the official division of the conferences, which happened in 1974. However, the Flyers would have the distinction of winning the title in the first ever Campbell Conference. In 2008, the NHL Western Conference champions were the Detroit Red Wings. They would also become that year’s Stanley Cup champions when they defeated the Pittsburgh Penguins in six games. This would be the 11th Stanley Cup title for the Detroit Red Wings.

Myths about the Campbell

There is a running superstition about the NHL Western Conference trophy, otherwise known as the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl. Players must not touch or hoist the bowl after winning the conference playoffs. According to legend, only the Stanley Cup is the trophy worth hoisting and any other items may bring bad luck to either the player or the team. Many players have had their own experiences with the Campbell, either resulting to debunking the myth or adding to the legend.