Super Bowl Champs

Thu, 18 Sep 2008 00:39

Super Bowl Champs

Football is the most popular sport in the United States, with NFL being the largest professional American Football league in the world. The television broadcast of the Super Bowl is the most watched television program of the year in the United States. Millions of people stay tuned to watch the game and find out who will win the Super Bowl Trophy. Over the years, teams have battled it out on the field, determined to emerge victorious after the game. Below are the list of some of the Super Bowl champions in recent years:

New York Giants

Winning the Super Bowl XLII, the New York Giants defeated the New England Patriots on February 3, 2008. The game was held at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The New York Giants are based in East Rutherford, New Jersey and are part of the Eastern Division of the National Football Conference. They train and play their home games at the Giants Stadium in New Jersey, which they share with the New York Jets. The Giants have also bagged seven NFL titles.

Indianapolis Colts

The Indianapolis Colts won against the Chicago Bears during the Super Bowl XLI, which was held on February 4, 2007. The game was held in Dolphin Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. The Colts are part of the South Division of the American Football Conference. They have won five NFL titles and two Super Bowls. The Indianapolis Colts actually started in Baltimore and relocated to Indianapolis in 1984. 

Pittsburgh Steelers

During the Super Bowl XL, the Pittsburgh Steelers won against the Seattle Seahawks, with a score of 21 against Seattle's ten points. The game happened in Ford Field, in Detroit, Michigan on February 5, 2006. The Pittsburgh Steelers, is one of the only three teams to have won five Super Bowl titles, the other two being the Dallas Cowboys and the San Francisco 49ers.

New England Patriots

The Super Bowl XXXIX title was won by the New England Patriots, who played against the Philadelphia Eagles. The game was held in ALLTELL Stadium located in Jacksonville, Florida. They also won the Super Bowls XXXVI and XXXVIII. Based in the Greater Boston area, the Patriots are members of the Eastern Division of the AFC. The original name of the team was Boston Patriots, but it was changed to its current name in 1971.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers, also known as the Bucs, won their first and only Super Bowl title during the Super Bowl XXXVII held on January 26, 2003. They defeated the Oakland Raiders, scoring 48 points against the Raiders' 21 points. The game was held in Qualcomm Stadium at San Diego. They are currently members of the Southern Division of the NFC and are based in Tampa, Florida.

Baltimore Ravens

Like the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the Baltimore Ravens have won only one Super Bowl title, the Super Bowl XXXV. They played against the New York Giants and the game was held in Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. Based in Baltimore, Maryland, this team is part of the North Division of the AFC.